The material presented on the Jason Hicks Law Firm, PLLC website is intended for information purposes only. It is not intended as professional advice and should not be construed as such. FLORIDA LAW CHANGES RAPIDLY AND THE DISCUSSIONS OF LEGAL ISSUES CONTAINED IN THIS WEBSITE ARE NOT UPDATED DAILY. SPEAK TO A LAWYER FOR UP TO DATE LEGAL ADVISE. DO NOT RELY SIMPLY ON A WEBSITE. Transmission of the information and material herein is not intended to create, and receipt does not constitute, an agreement to create an attorney-client relationship with the Jason Hicks Law Firm or any member thereof. Some links within this website may lead to other sites. Jason Hicks Law Firm does not necessarily sponsor, endorse or otherwise approve of the materials appearing in such sites.
Former State Prosecutor
As you are probably already aware, drug crimes in Florida are harshly punished. Marijuana crimes are also punished severely, even for simple possession of marijuana or possession of cannabis. Although laws against marijuana possession are beginning to relax across the country as science and experience continues to prove that marijuana is less dangerous than alcohol, Florida law enforcement officers continue to arrest citizens in droves and charge them criminally.
If you were arrested for a marijuana-related crime and convicted, you can expect extremely harsh penalties, including jail or prison time, drivers license suspension, fines, restitution, and probation. When arrested you need to take immediate action to protect your freedoms and defend your rights. With the representation of a Brevard County criminal lawyer, you may be able to receive a favorable outcome for your criminal case.
Many people are surprised to learn that they will lose their drivers license if convicted of possessing marijuana even if a motor vehicle was not involved.
Penalties for Marijuana Offenses in Florida vary depending on the weight of the marijuana that was found on you or on your property. Also considered is whether you had the intent to sell that marijuana or not. You may even be charged with a drug crime if you were just found with marijuana paraphernalia. Paraphernalia often includes things used to smoke or hold marijuana including, but not limited to pipes, bongs, rolling papers, plastic bags, and scales to name a few. If you were in possession of 20 grams or less of marijuana, you will be charged with a 1st degree misdemeanor crime and could face up to one year in jail, be subjected to a fine of up to $1,000, have your driver's license suspended (even if a vehicle wasn't involved in your case), and/or placed on probation for up to 1 year. If you were in possession of more than 20 grams, you will likely be charged with a felony. In that instance, you would be facing anywhere between five and fifteen years in a Florida State Prison (depending on the weight of the marijuana) and could be ordered to pay a maximum fine of between $5,000 to $15,000 (again, depending on weight). If facing a felony marijuana charge, what your maximum penalty will be depends on many other factors.
Call Brevard County Marijuana Defense Attorney Jason Hicks for a free case review and to better understand what penalties you are potentially facing.
Florida Prosecutors take the sale of marijuana very seriously. If arrested for the sale of marijuana, and the sale was made within one thousand feet of a school or park, regardless of the amount, you will be charged with a felony and could pay steep fines of up to $10,000. These crimes are very serious and need to be handled by a knowledgeable Brevard County Criminal Defense Attorney as soon as possible.
Copyright © Jason Hicks Law Firm. All Rights Reserved.